Web address: www.newpaltz.edu/mems

The minor in Medieval and Early Modern Studies is an interdisciplinary program in the art, literature, history, philosophy, religion, and political institutions of Europe and its colonies from the periods between the collapse of the Roman Empire and the French Revolution. Students take courses from seven academic departments: Art History, Black Studies, English, Languages, Literatures & Cultures, History, Philosophy, and Political Science.

For more information about this minor, please contact Professor Eugene Heath, MEMS program coordinator, via e-mail at heathe@newpaltz.edu.

MED393. Mdevl/Erly Mdrn Stds Slctd Tpc. 3-12 Credits.

Selected topics courses are regularly scheduled courses that focus on a particular topic of interest. Descriptions are printed in the Schedule of Classes each semester. Selected topics courses may be used as elective credit and may be repeated for credit, provided that the topic of the course changes.

Restrictions:

  • Must have the following level: Undergraduate
  • Must not be enrolled in the following class: Freshman
May be repeated for credit

MED493. Mdval/Erly Mdrn Stds Slctd Tps. 3 Credits.

Selected topics courses are regularly scheduled courses that focus on a particular topic of interest. Descriptions are printed in the Schedule of Classes each semester. Selected topics courses may be used as elective credit and may be repeated for credit, provided that the topic of the course changes.

Restrictions:

  • Must have the following level: Undergraduate
  • Must not be enrolled in the following class: Freshman
May not be repeated for credit

Mary Christensen
Languages, Literatures & Cultures
christmc@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 400

Thomas Festa
English
festat@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 720

Eugene Heath, Program Coordinator
Philosophy
heathe@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 1006

Isidoro Janeiro
Foreign Languages
janeiroi@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 404

Nancy Johnson
English
johnsonm@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 818

Daniel Kempton
English
kemptond@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 712

Jaclynne Kerner
Art History
kernerj@newpaltz.edu
Office: SAB 108F

Ellen Konowitz
Art History
konowite@newpaltz.edu
Office: SAB 108E

Bruce Milem
Philosophy
milemb@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 1018

Jeff Miller
Political Science
millerj@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 816

Heather Morrison
History
morrisoh@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 904

Cyrus Mulready
English
mulreadc@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 206

Thomas Olsen
English
olsent@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 710

Louis Roper
History
roperl@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 916

Michael Vargas
History
vargasm@newpaltz.edu
Office: JFT 1008