Web address: www.newpaltz.edu/mems

The minor in Medieval & Early Modern Studies is an interdisciplinary program in the art, literature, history, philosophy, religion, and political institutions of Europe and its colonies from the periods between the collapse of the Roman Empire and the French Revolution. Students may select courses from seven academic departments: Art History, Black Studies, English, Languages, Literatures & Cultures, History, Philosophy, and Political Science & International Relations.

For more information about this minor, please contact Professor Eugene Heath, MEMS program coordinator, via e-mail at heathe@newpaltz.edu.

MED393. Mdevl/Erly Mdrn Stds Slctd Tpc. 3-12 Credits.

Selected topics courses are regularly scheduled courses that focus on a particular topic of interest. Descriptions are printed in the Schedule of Classes each semester. Selected topics courses may be used as elective credit and may be repeated for credit, provided that the topic of the course changes.

Restrictions:

  • Must have the following level: Undergraduate
  • Must not be enrolled in the following class: Freshman
May be repeated for credit

MED493. Mdval/Erly Mdrn Stds Slctd Tps. 3 Credits.

Selected topics courses are regularly scheduled courses that focus on a particular topic of interest. Descriptions are printed in the Schedule of Classes each semester. Selected topics courses may be used as elective credit and may be repeated for credit, provided that the topic of the course changes.

Restrictions:

  • Must have the following level: Undergraduate
  • Must not be enrolled in the following class: Freshman
May not be repeated for credit

Bueno, Cruz
Assistant Professor (Black Studies)
Office: OM B120B
Phone: (845) 257-2721
E-mail: buenoc@newpaltz.edu

Festa, Thomas 
Professor (English)
Office: JFT 908
Phone: (845) 257-2726
E-mail: festat@newpaltz.edu

Heath, F. Eugene
Professor (Philosophy) and Program Coordinator
Office: FOB W5
Phone: (845) 257-2981
E-mail: heathe@newpaltz.edu

Kerner, Jaclynne
Associate Professor (Art History)
Office: SAB 108H
Phone: (845) 257-3852
E-mail: kernerj@newpaltz.edu

Konowitz, Ellen 
Associate Professor (Art History)
Office: SAB 108D
Phone: (845) 257-3876
E-mail: konowite@newpaltz.edu

Miller, Jeff 
Associate Professor (Political Science)
Office: SCB 147
Phone: (845) 257-3934
E-mail: millerj@newpaltz.edu

Morrison, Heather 
Associate Professor (History)
Office: JFT 1005
Phone: (845) 257-2329
E-mail: morrisoh@newpaltz.edu

Mulready, Cyrus 
Associate Professor (English)
Office: JFT 712
Phone: (845) 257-2739                                                                                              
mulreadc@newpaltz.edu

Olsen, Thomas 
Professor (English)
Office: JFT 808
Phone: (845) 257-2723
E-mail: olsent@newpaltz.edu

Roper, Louis 
Distinguished Professor (History)
Office: SCB 106
Phone: (845) 257-3542
E-mail: roperl@newpaltz.edu

Vargas, Michael 
Professor (History)
Office: JFT 910
Phone: (845) 257-2358
E-mail: vargasm@newpaltz.edu

Vishnuvajjala, Usha 
Assistant Professor (English)
Office: SCB 145
Phone: (845) 257-2728
E-mail: vishnuvu@newpaltz.edu