The State University of New York is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States. SUNY New Paltz is one of 64 SUNY campuses and one of the system's 13 University Colleges. University Colleges are leaders in undergraduate instruction and provide bachelor's and master's degrees in liberal arts and sciences and professional disciplines. Student success is the primary focus as evidenced by faculty and staff interactions through honors programs, independent study opportunities, research and study abroad.

SUNY Leadership

Senior Staff

Deborah F. Stanley, Interim Chancellor

Beth Berlin, Chief Operating Officer

Anta Cissé-Green, Senior Vice Chancellor and General Counsel

Valerie Dent, Deputy Chief Operating Office & Interim Chief Diversity Officer

Johanna Duncan-Poitier, Senior Vice Chancellor for Community Colleges and the Education Pipeline

Aaron Gladd, Chief of Staff

Valerie Grey, Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Health & Hospital Affairs and Chief Hospital and Healthcare Operations Officer

Cheryl Hamilton, Interim Student Advocate and Executive Director of Educational Opportunity Programs

Nick Lyons, Senior Advisor

Robert Megna, President of Rockefeller Institute of Government and Senior Advisor to the Chancellor

Travis Proulx, Vice Chancellor for Government Affairs & Marketing

F. Shadi Shahedipour-Sandvik, Senior Vice Chancellor for Research, Innovation & Economic Development and Provost-in-Charge

Board of Trustees

Merryl H. Tisch, Chair - New York City

Cesar Perales, Vice Chair - New York City

Joseph Belluck - New York City

Courtney Eagles Burke - Albany

Alexandria Chun - President, SUNY Student Assembly

Eric Corngold - Brooklyn

Marcos Crespo - New York City

Robert Duffy - Rochester

James Haddon - New York City

Keith Landa - Purchase

Eunice A. Lewin - Buffalo

Stanley S. Litow - New York City

Edward Spiro - New York City

Cary Staller - Old Field

Camille Joseph Varlack - New York City

Christy Woods, President, Faculty Council of Community Colleges - Rochester

New Paltz Leadership

College Council

SUNY College Councils are established, described and governed by the provisions of Article 8, Section 356 of the New York State Education Law. Each state-operated campus has such a Council. Each Council consists of 10 members, nine appointed by the Governor, and one elected by and from the students on the campus. The Governor designates one member as Chair. Council members appointed by the Governor serve for a term of seven years. Councils also shall invite a representative of the faculty and a representative of the alumni to attend regular meetings of the Council. Consistent with the statutory responsibilities of such bodies, they shall develop and foster strong relationships between their institutions and local communities and promote campus and University interests.

Eli Basch, Interim Chairperson - Kingston

Neil Bettez - New Paltz

Judy Bishop '82, Alumni Representative

Brianna Hicks, Student Association President

Ronald Law ’74 - Bronx

Julie L. Noble - Kingston

Jeff Rindler - Hollowville

Reynolds J. Scott-Childress - Faculty Representative

Eleanor Venables - New Paltz

Retired Members

Kenneth J. Abt, Previous Chairperson - Middletown

Bythema B. Bagley ’83 - New Paltz

Administrative Officers

Darrell P. Wheeler, President

Barbara G. Lyman, Interim Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs

Stephanie Blaisdell, Vice President for Student Affairs

Jeffrey Gant, Vice President for Enrollment Management

Michele Halstead, Vice President for Administration & Finance

Erica Marks, Vice President for Development & Alumni Relations and Executive Director, SUNY New Paltz Foundation

Tanhena Pacheco-Dunn, Vice President for Human Resources, Diversity & Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer

Shelly Wright, Chief of Staff and Vice President for Communication

Academic Leaders

Kristin Backhaus, Dean, School of Business

Laura Barrett, Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Daniel Freedman, Dean, School of Science & Engineering

Laurel M. Garrick Duhaney, Associate Provost, Strategic Planning & Assessment

Aaron Isabelle, Interim Dean, School of Education

Shala Mills, Associate Provost for Academic Planning & Learning Innovation

Jeni Mokren, Dean, School of Fine & Performing Arts